Event Details


A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket will launch the RADARSAT Constellation payload from Space Launch Complex 4E, Vandenberg Air Force Base, California, USA.

The RADARSAT Constellation Mission (RCM) is a three-spacecraft fleet of Earth observation satellites by the Canadian Space Agency. With satellites smaller than RADARSAT-2, the RCM will provide new applications—made possible through the constellation approach—as well as continuing to provide C-band radar data to RADARSAT-2 users. One of its most significant improvements is in its operational use of synthetic-aperture radar (SAR) data. The primary goal of RCM is to provide continuous C-band SAR data to RADARSAT-2 users, as SAR imagery at a high temporal resolution is required by several users in the Canadian government. Other improvements include more frequent area coverage of Canada and reduced risk of a service interruption.

Related channels: SPACEX, ROCKET LAUNCHES & LANDINGS, SATELLITES & CUBESATS


OFFICIAL SPACEX LIVE STREAM

SpaceX is targeting Wednesday, June 12 for launch of RADARSAT Constellation Mission from Space Launch Complex 4E (SLC-4E) at Vandenberg Air Force Base in California. The primary launch window opens at 7:17 a.m. PDT, or 14:17 UTC, and closes at 7:30 a.m. PDT, or 14:30 UTC. The satellites will begin deployment approximately 54 minutes after launch. A backup launch window opens on Thursday, June 13 at 7:17 a.m. PDT, or 14:17 UTC, and closes at 7:30 a.m. PDT, or 14:30 UTC.

Falcon 9’s first stage for launch of RADARSAT Constellation Mission previously supported Crew Dragon’s first demonstration mission in March 2019. Following stage separation, Falcon 9’s first stage will return to land on SpaceX’s Landing Zone 4 (LZ-4) at Vandenberg Air Force Base.


ALTERNATIVE LIVE STREAMS


COMMENTS


LAUNCH DELAY? WATCH SOMETHING AWESOME WHILE YOU WAIT / MORE


SPACEFLIGHT NEWS


MORE UPCOMING LIVE STREAMS